h1

All 50 Approved – Overview

July 26, 2010

Completing this top 50 made me realise I have watched a lot of anime by now and some of them were watched quite a while ago. It made me painfully aware that not only do I have a lot of series unwatched, I also forgot about a lot of series I did watch. More than a few times, I didn’t really remember what was so special about a particular anime in my list, although I knew I definitely liked it. For example: Ergo Proxy made a very good impression on me. I was completely fascinated by that show but due to its complexity I seem to have forgotten most details on who and how and what was going on.

Even anime that didn’t make the list suffered from my subjective memory. I was wondering why I apparently didn’t like Azumanga Daioh that much, so I decided to rewatch it and found it seriously awesome. Maybe it gets better the second time. Maybe I now get more of the references. But most likely I just remembered the few flaws more than the overall greatness. I now know this list isn’t even subjectively correct. Or is there no such thing?

Rewatching for better reviews sounds logical. And because I’m a list fanatic, I also think relisting is better for this top 50 that started 5 months ago. I’m slow so I need to compensate with clarity. Here is the complete overview of All 50 Approved.

  • 50. Darker than Black
  • 49. BECK
  • 48. Eden of the East
  • 47. Shigurui
  • 46. Full Metal Panic Fumoffu!  -> link to part 1
  • 45. Hidamari Sketch
  • 44. Gankutsuou
  • 43. Kaiji
  • 42. Macross
  • 41. Death Note -> link to part 2
  • 40. Sayonara Zetsubou Sensei
  • 39. Chi’s Sweet Home
  • 38. Moyashimon
  • 37. Hatsukoi Limited
  • 36. Neon Genesis Evangelion -> link to part 3
  • 35. Terra e
  • 34. Ouran High School Host Club
  • 33. The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya
  • 32. Seirei no Moribito
  • 31. Fullmetal Alchemist Brotherhood -> link to part 4
  • 30. Aria
  • 29. Gakuen Utopia Manabi Straight
  • 28. Ookiku Furikabutte
  • 27. Natsume Yuujinchou
  • 26. Planetes -> link to part 5
  • 25. Sengoku Basara
  • 24. Hunter x Hunter
  • 23. Honey & Clover 2
  • 22. Great Teacher Onizuka
  • 21. Gungrave -> link to part 6
  • 20. Dennou Coil
  • 19. Ichigo Mashimaro
  • 18. Mononoke
  • 17. Hajime no Ippo
  • 16. Monster -> link to part 7
  • 15. Mahoromatic
  • 14. Mushishi
  • 13. School Rumble
  • 12. Wolf’s Rain
  • 11. Baccano -> link to part 8
  • 10. Toradora
  • 9. Legend of the Galactic Heroes
  • 8. Ergo Proxy
  • 7. One Piece
  • 6. Cross Game -> link to part 9
  • 5. Hellsing Ultimate
  • 4. Spice & Wolf
  • 3. FLCL
  • 2. Tengen Toppa Gurren Lagann
  • 1. Nodame Cantabile -> link to final part

Leave a Reply

